Westfield W-League Grand Final recap: Sydney FC win Big Blue decider

We're up to Season Five in our look back at the first nine Westfield W-League Grand Finals and this one saw a cracking Big Blue clash between Melbourne Victory and Sydney FC.

Having only marginally scraped into the Westfield W-League 2012/13 Finals Series, the Sky Blues defied their outsiders tag to claim a second championship in dream fashion.

Alen Stajcic’s side came from fourth to tee up a Big Blue decider and upset rivals Melbourne Victory 3-1 at AAMI Park.

The Sky Blues had taken the tough route to their third Grand Final in four seasons, stunning premiers Brisbane Roar in a 3-2 semi-final epic the previous week.

And they continued that form on the big stage as Nicola Bolger pounced on a short back-pass to squeeze home the opener in the 25th minute.

Victory had themselves survived an away semi-final to earn hosting rights and drew level before half-time through Petra Larsson’s superb curling free-kick.

Enter Sam Kerr.

Sam Kerr shows off her now-trademark somersault celebration.
Sam Kerr shows off her now-trademark somersault celebration.

Still only 19, the livewire forward expertly headed Kyah Simon’s cross into the bottom corner to restore the visitors’ advantage within three minutes of the restart.

Victory were forced to chase the game and were left exposed at the back, with Maika Ruyter-Hooley shown a red card for fouling Larissa Crummer inside the area.

Kyah Simon stepped up to coolly convert the penalty that sealed Sydney FC’s fourth major Westfield W-League trophy.