Westfield W-League Ins & Outs | semi-finals

All the team news and previews ahead of this weekend's Westfield W-League semi-finals.

Brisbane Roar v Sydney FC Saturday 19 January 2013 Queensland Sports and Athletics Centre, Brisbane Local kick-off: 3pm

Catch the action live streaming online at www.abc.net.au/w-league and nationally on ABC1 from 4pm AEDST.

The latest instalment of what is arguably the Westfield W-League-s greatest rivalry will have even more edge than usual with a grand final berth on the line.

The pair have met in all four previous finals series, with last year-s controversial meeting at the same venue no doubt still fresh in the minds of some. Historically Brisbane Roar have the wood over their rivals in the finals, including last year-s penalty shoot-out victory, but once again there is very little to choose between the two on paper.

Brisbane are hunting a remarkable fifth consecutive grand final appearance and recent form suggests they are favourites to do just that.

With match tickets on sale at various venues around the city, a strong crowd is expected to turn up and get behind the Roar against their keenest rivals. Brisbane enjoyed a hard-won 2-0 victory against the Sky Blues just two weeks ago, and with their star players in fine fettle they will be confident of repeating that feat.

Sydney FC travel to Queensland not only having endured some indifferent recent form but with mixed memories of their last two visits north. Earlier this season they cruised to a 3-1 win, however this time last year were edged out on penalties following an eleventh hour equaliser.

The Sky Blues though have more than enough firepower to win and they will have a full squad at their disposal, including Ellyse Perry who had been facing a clash between her football and cricket commitments.

Brisbane Roar squad: 1. Hoshimi KISHI (gk), 2. Laura ALLEWAY, 3. Amy CHAPMAN, 4. Clare POLKINGHORNE, 5. Brooke SPENCE, 6. Ashley SPINA, 7. Erika ELZE, 8. Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, 9. Emma PITTMAN, 10. Lana HARCH, 11. Vedrana POPOVIC, 12. Rebecca PRICE, 13. Tameka BUTT, 14. Georgia CHAPMAN, 15. Hannah BEARD, 16. Sachiko TATSUOKA, 17. Emily GIELNIK, 18. Kate STEWART (gk), 19. Katrina GORRY, 20. Joanne BUCKLEY (gk) (*four to be omitted)

Ins: 9. Emma PITTMAN, 10, Lana HARCH, 12. Rebecca PRICE, 14. Georgia CHAPMAN, 20. Joanne BUCKLEY (gk) (all promoted) Outs: None Unavailable: None

Sydney FC squad: 1. Sian MCLAREN (gk), 2. Teresa POLIAS, 3. Elizabeth RALSTON, 4. Sam KERR, 6. Natalie TOBIN, 7. Nicola BOLGER, 9. Caitlin FOORD, 10. Renee ROLLASON, 11. Annalie LONGO, 12. Chloe LOGARZO, 13. Larissa CRUMMER, 14. Alanna KENNEDY, 16. Ellyse PERRY, 17. Kyah SIMON (C), 19. Emma KETE, 20. Sham KHAMIS (gk)

Ins: 6. Natalie TOBIN, 11. Annalie LONGO (both promoted) Outs: Meg McLaughlin (omitted) Unavailable: None

Perth Glory v Melbourne Victory Sunday 20 January 2013 nib Stadium, Perth Local kick-off: 1pm

Catch the action live streaming online at www.abc.net.au/w-league and nationally on ABC1 from 4pm AEDST.

Whatever happens in Sunday-s semi-final in Perth, a slice of history will be made with the winner progressing to a maiden Westfield W-League decider.

Both have excelled this season and were in the running to finish top of the ladder until the final round. The pair have met just once this term, and that was way back in the opening round when the Glory secured a hard-fought 2-0 win, although there have been some key personnel changes in the respective line-ups since then.

It will be somewhat of a milestone for women-s football in the west on Sunday with the Glory hosting their maiden finals fixture. Perth welcome back the enigmatic Lisa De Vanna from suspension, while fellow striker Katie Gill is on a high after winning the golden boot with 11 goals over the course of the regular season.

It is little surprise then that Perth finished as the most prolific team in front of goal, however they will be facing what is statistically the league-s best defence.

Melbourne have survived a roller-coaster season with impressive fortitude but they face a tough challenge on the road if they are to avoid a third straight finals defeat.

The Victory-s resilience will be further tested after they suffered the disappointment of failing to beat bottom side Newcastle Jets last weekend which denied them a maiden home finals match. Despite last weekend-s hiccup the Victory have lost just once in their last 10 outings.

Perth Glory squad: 2. Sarah CARROLL, 3. Carys HAWKINS, 4. Bronwyn STUDMAN, 5. Shannon MAY, 6. Sasha ANDREWS, 7. Aivi LUIK, 8. Ella MASTRANTONIO, 9. Rosie SUTTON, 10. Jaymee GIBBONS, 11. Lisa DE VANNA, 12. Kate GILL, 13. Elisa D-OVIDIO, 14. Collette MCCALLUM (C), 15. Elizabeth MILNE, 16. Thia EASTMAN, 17. Marianna TABAIN, 19. Shawn BILLAM, 20. Zoe PALANDRI (gk), 40. Kaitlyn SAVAGE (gk) (* three to be omitted)

Ins: 4. Bronwyn STUDMAN (promoted), 10. Jaymee GIBBONS (returns from study commitments), 11. Lisa DE VANNA (returns from suspension), 15, Elizabeth MILNE (promoted) Outs: None Unavailable: Kirri Bolton (hip - indefinite), Carly Telford (hand - season)

Melbourne Victory squad: 1. Brianna DAVEY (gk), 2. Danielle JOHNSON, 3. Maika RUYTER-HOOLEY, 4. Rebekah STOTT, 5. Laura SPIRANOVIC, 6. Petra LARSSON, 7. Stephanie CATLEY, 9. Tiffany ELIADIS, 10. Jessica McDONALD, 11.Caitlin FRIEND, 14. Enza BARILLA, 15. Amy JACKSON, 16. Georgie KOUTROUVELIS, 17. Gulcan KOCA, 18. Cindy LAY, 19. Rachel ALONSO, 20. Cassandra DIMOVSKI (gk), 23. Jessica HUMBLE (*two to be omitted)

In: 9. Tiffany ELIADIS, 16. Georgie KOUTROUVELIS, 19. Rachel ALONSO (all promoted) Outs: None Unavailable: Ashley BROWN (knee - season), Louisa BISBY (knee - season), Jackie Vogt (knee - season)