Westfield W-League: Julie Dolan award winners

When the Westfield W-League kicks off next month, Westfield Matildas superstar Sam Kerr will be odds on to claim back-to-back player of the season awards.

The Julie Dolan Medal, awarded to the Westfield W-League’s best player over the course of the season, is the game’s highest individual honour.

Westfield W-League: who is Julie Dolan?

And with the Westfield W-League set to enter its tenth season, we decided to take a look back at the previous winners of the coveted award.

Julie Dolan award winners – Westfield W-League

2008–09 - Lana Harch (Queensland Roar)

The attacker helped Queensland to the Premiership and Championship double, scoring in the Roar’s Grand Final win over Canberra United.        

Lana Harch.

2009 - Michelle Heyman (Central Coast Mariners)

The striker claimed the Westfield W-League golden boot to help the Mariners to a second-placed finish, though they fell to Brisbane Roar in the semi-finals.

Michelle Heyman.

2010–11 Kyah Simon (Sydney FC)

The Westfield Matildas striker helped Sydney FC to the Premiership but the Sky Blues eventually fell to a 2-1 Grand Final loss to Brisbane Roar.

She was named the Young Player of the Year, Players’ Player of the Year and claimed the golden boot award.

Kyah Simon

2011–12 Sally Shipard (Canberra United)

The midfielder helped Canberra to the Premiership and Championship double, with United enjoying an undefeated campaign.

Sally Shipard.

2012–13 Clare Polkinghorne (Brisbane Roar)

The Roar defender was named the competition’s best after helping her side to the Premiership.

Unfortunately Brisbane fell to a semi-final loss to Sydney FC. She was also named in the FFA Team of the Decade (Women’s 2000 -2013).

Clare Polkinghorne.

2013–14 Tameka Butt (Brisbane Roar)

After winning the Players’ Player award in 2012/13, the midfielder helped the Roar to a fifth Westfield W-League Grand Final which they ultimately lost to Melbourne Victory in 2013/14.

Brisbane Roar's Tameka Butt was named last season's Westfield W-League player of the year.

2014 Emily van Egmond (Newcastle Jets)

The midfielder starred for a youthful Jets outfit and helped the club to within a whisker of the Westfield W-League Finals.

Emily van Egmond.

2015–16 Ashleigh Sykes (Canberra United)

The fleet-footed attacker helped Canberra to second spot on the ladder with seven goals, though United were upset by Sydney FC in the Semi Finals.

Canberra United's Ashleigh Sykes won the 2015/16 Julie Dolan Medal.

2016–17 Samantha Kerr (Perth Glory)

The Westfield Matildas phenomenon netted 10 goals for the season to help Glory finish second, where they were beaten in the Grand Final by Melbourne City.

Sam Kerr.