Westfield W-League legends pick their all-time Team of the Decade

The Westfield W-League is in its 10th year in the 2017/18 Season and as part of the celebrations we’re looking back at some of the best players to have featured in the competition.

As well as giving fans the chance to vote on their Team of the Decade, we asked some Westfield W-League legends to pick their all-time XI’s.

Tom Sermanni, Sarah Walsh and Julie Dolan are names synonymous with women’s football and the Westfield W-League, and they’ve nominated their Team of the Decade.

Take a look at who they picked below and keep an eye out for your chance to vote on your favourite players by position before we reveal the fan’s pick for the best Westfield W-League XI.


The Scottish-born coach spent seven years in charge of the Westfield Matildas between 2005 and 2012.

He enjoyed some excellent results as Australian boss, guiding the Westfield Matildas to the quarter-finals at both the 2007 and 2011 FIFA World Cups.


GK: Lydia Williams

DEF: Clare Polkinghorne, Laura Alleway, Ellie Brush, Steph Catley

MID: Sally Shipard, Teresa Polias, Kylie Ledbrook

ATT: Michelle Heyman, Sam Kerr, Lisa De Vanna

Clare Polkinghorne
Clare Polkinghorne


GK: Nadine Angerer

DEF: Arin Gilliland, Ariane Hingst, Lauren Barnes, Yukari Kinga

MID: Kim Little, Jess Fishlock, Christine Nairn

ATT: Sofia Huerta, Jodie Taylor, Megan Rapinoe

Jess Fishlock
Jess Fishlock


A brilliant former Westfield Matildas striker, Walsh scored 31 goals in 70 appearances in the green and gold.

In the Westfield W-League she enjoyed stints at both Sydney FC and Western Sydney Wanderers.

GK: Lydia Williams

DEF: Clare Polkinghorne, Ellie Brush, Alanna Kennedy, Steph Catley

MID: Heather Garriock, Teresa Polias, Tameka Butt

ATT: Lisa De Vanna, Michelle Heyman, Caitlin Foord

BENCH: Melissa Hudson (nee Barbieri), Elise Kellond-Knight, Sam Kerr, Leena Khamis

Michelle Heyman


Dolan is recognised as a pioneer of women's football in Australia and is true footballing royalty. She became Australia's inaugural captain at just 16, leading the team out against New Zealand in 1979.

And every year the Julie Dolan Medal is presented to the best player in the Westfield W-League.

GK: Lydia Williams

DEF: Cheryl Salisbury, Clare Polkinghorne, Laura Alleway, Collette McCallum

MID: Joey Peters, Elise Kellond-Knight, Emily van Egmond, Sally Shipard

ATT: Lisa De Vanna, Sam Kerr

Sam Kerr
Sam Kerr