Westfield W-League players to have swapped shirts for 2018/19

There is always plenty of movement in the Westfield W-League off-season and the build-up to the 2018/19 campaign has been no different.

And while there are new faces for fans to get used to, there are also several established names who have opted for a change of scenery.

WATCH: How Westfield W-League fans will be following the action
NEW LOOKS: Every Westfield W-League kit for 2018/19
NEW SIGNINGS: Perth complete W-League squad with double signing

Get up to speed with the six biggest names who have swapped Westfield W-League clubs ahead of the new season!

Michelle Heyman

The Westfield W-League’s greatest ever goalscorer won’t be donning the famous Canberra United green this season.

Heyman won three Premierships, two Championships and scored 51 Westfield W-League goals in her 93 matches with United.

But the 30-year-old will now be fronting the charge of Adelaide United as Ivan Karlovic’s side look to respond from their disappointing Westfield W-League 2017/18 Season.

Adelaide finished ninth last term and were the league’s joint second-lowest scorers, but the addition of the Westfield Matildas sharpshooter comes as a potentially game-changing boost to their attacking arsenal.

All eyes will be on the Westfield W-League star when Adelaide welcomes Canberra to the City of Churches on Thursday, 22 November.

Alanna Kennedy

The formidable Westfield Matildas defender is back in Sky Blue yet again.

Kennedy will ply her trade at Sydney FC once more in the Westfield W-League 2018/19 Season – beginning her fourth stint at the Harbour City club.

Kennedy won the Westfield W-League Championship with Melbourne City last season, collecting her fourth piece of domestic silverware on Australian shores in the process.

After a strong campaign with Orlando Pride in the National Women’s Soccer League, the 23-year-old might fancy her chances at claiming yet another Westfield W-League Championship.

It would be her second with Sydney FC, having won the Westfield W-League Championship in 2012/13.

Alanna Kennedy
Alanna Kennedy

Emily Gielnik

After spending close to a decade on the books of Brisbane Roar, Gielnik has returned home for the 2018/19 campaign.

Gielnik left Victoria at the age of seven and would go on to win two Westfield W-League Premierships and a Championship at the Queensland club.

She scored 30 goals in 83 appearances for Roar and became a firm fan favourite, but is now tasked with firing the Victory back up the Westfield W-League ladder.

Emily Gielnik

Tameka Butt

The departure of Westfield Matildas star Butt to Melbourne City only adds to the changing-of-the-guard feeling around Brisbane Roar ahead of the new campaign.

A three-time Premiership and two-time Championship winner – and a scorer in a Grand Final – Butt has lived through all of the club’s successes.

It will be a strange sight to see the combative midfielder lining up in Melbourne City white and blue in 2018/19.

Welcome Tameka Butt
Tameka Butt

Elise Kellond-Knight

Another of Brisbane’s inaugural talents will be lining up for Melbourne City this season.

Kellond-Knight began her career at the Queensland club alongside her Westfield Matildas compatriot Butt – the pair now comprise of a formidable midfield duo at the three-time Westfield W-League Champions.

Kellond-Knight was there for the club’s Westfield W-League Premiership and Championship double in 2008/09 and Championship triumph in 2010/11.


Leena Khamis

There will be added intrigue when Western Sydney Wanderers host Sydney FC on Thursday night to launch the new Westfield W-League season.

That is in part down to the fact Khamis will be sporting Red and Black for former Sydney FC coach Dan Barrett, as one of three signings from the Sky Blues.

Khamis won the double with Sydney in 2009 and was a reliable contributor in front of goal for the Sky Blues.

She’ll now be charged with bringing the Wanderers back up to speed for a gruelling campaign.

Leena Khamis
Leena Khamis