Westfield W-League Round 7 Review

Canberra United are the latest team to make a claim on second spot in the Westfield W-League thanks to a 4-1 win over Western Sydney Wanderers on Sunday.

Kendall Fletcher scored in each half but last season’s champions were pushed hard by the Wanderers until two last goals ended the contest.

However, Canberra remain eight points in arrears of leaders Melbourne City who weren’t in action on a weekend where many teams were shorn of the Westfield Matildas personnel due to international commitments in Korea Republic.

Newcastle Jets and Sydney FC both jumped into third amid a congested ladder thanks to victories over Brisbane Roar and Adelaide United respectively.

The Jets, who are clear of the Sky Blues on goal difference, impressed in Brisbane winning with goals from Adriana Jones, Caprice Dydasco, Jenna Kingsley and Megan Oyster.

Sydney FC won 1-0 at Adelaide on Friday evening with Jasmyne Spencer - the Sky Blues’ top scorer from last season – opening her account for the campaign.

Bottom side Melbourne Victory finally got off the mark in stylish fashion with a 3-1 win over Perth Glory on Saturday evening.

Next Sunday will be highlighted by the Melbourne derby at Kingston Heath, and the Fox Sports/ABC TV match as Adelaide United host Perth Glory.

Adelaide United 0
Sydney FC 1 (Jasmyne Spencer 68’)

Friday 27 November 2015
Adelaide Shores Football Centre
Kick-off: 7pm

Referee: Kate Jacewicz

Adelaide United: Kaitlyn Savage (gk), Lauren Steer (Lorena Maggio 83’), Alexandra Gummer, Sarah Killion, Chantelle Ryder, Emily Condon, Georgia Campagnale (Allira Toby 73’), Rosie Sutton, Elizabeth Milne (c), Abigail Dahlkemper, Tiarn Powell

Substitutes – Claudia Jenkins (gk), Grace Abbey

Cautions – Lauren Steel 26’, Elizabeth Milne 93’

Sydney FC: Michelle Betos (gk), Liz Ralston, Ellyse Perry, Jasmyne Spencer, Sunny Franco (Heidi Makrillos 93’), Teresa Polias (c), Nicola Bolger (Olivia Price 54’), Princess Ibini, Natalie Tobin, Teigen Allen, Leena Khamis

Substitutes – Sham Khamis (gk)

Cautions – Jasmyne Spencer 29’, Teresa Polias 87’, Michelle Betos 91’

Perth Glory 1 (Shannon May 84’)
Melbourne Victory 3 (Hayley Raso 9’, Christine Nairn 52’, Whitney Knight 90’)

Saturday 28 November 2015
Ashfield Reserve, Perth
Kick-off: 4pm

Referee: Casey Reibelt

Perth Glory: Gabrielle Dal Busco (gk), Kim Carroll (c), Katie Holtham, Shannon May, Nicole Stanton, Emily Henderson, Kathryn Schubert (Carla Bennett 56’), Caitlin Doeglas (Angelique Stannett 71’), Thia Eastman, Ella Mastrantonio (Shawn Billam 80’), Vanessa DiBernardo

Substitutes – Evangeline Gooch (gk)

Cautions – Kim Carroll 8’, Caitlin Doeglas 46’

Melbourne Victory: Melissa Barbieri (gk) (c), Alexandra Natoli, Annabel Martin, Jamie Pollock, Christine Nairn, Laura Spiranovic, MelindaJ Barbieri (Whitney Knight 80’), Thea Slatyer, Hayley Raso, Cindy Lay (Melissa Taranto 88’), Natasha Dowie

Substitutes – Cassandra Dimovski (gk), Adriana Taranto

Cautions – none

Brisbane Roar 0
Newcastle Jets 4 (Adriana Jones 22’, Caprice Dydasco 55’, Jenna Kingsley 75’, Megan Oyster 83’)

Sunday 29 November 2015
A.J. Kelly Field, Clontarf, Brisbane
Kick-off: 2pm

Referee: Rachel Mitchenson

Brisbane Roar: Haley Kopmeyer (gk), Amy Chapman (c), Angela Beard, Gabrielle Marzano, Ayesha Norrie, Alisha Foote, Summer O’Brien, Ashley Spina (Brooke Goodrich 75’), Emily Gielnik, Maili Forbes (Elise Franco 87’), Sofie Persson (Cortnee Vine 58’)

Substitutes – Carrie Simpson (gk)

Cautions – Maili Forbes 14'

Newcastle Jets: Hannah Southwell (gk), Sophie Nenadovic (Brooke Miller 73’), Megan Oyster, Caprice Dydasco, Cassidy Davis, Gema Simon (c), Rhali Dobson (Clare Wheeler 30’), Adriana Jones, Siahn Bozanic (Kobie Ferguson 62’), Jenna Kingsley, Hannah Bromley

Substitutes – Claire Coelho (gk)

Cautions – Brooke Miller 76’

Western Sydney Wanderers 1 (Erica Halloway 77’)
Canberra United 4 (Kendall Fletcher 4’, 79’, Rachael Soutar O.G. 53’, Ashleigh Sykes 83’)

Sunday 29 November 2015
Central Coast Stadium, Gosford
Kick-off: 2pm

Referee: Kelly Jones

Western Sydney Wanderers: Jada Whyman (gk), Carmelina Moscato, Chloe O’Brien, Rachael Soutar, Erica Halloway (Helen Petinos 82’), Elizabeth Grey (Linda O’Neill 61’), Michelle Carney, Keelin Winters (c), Hannah Beard (Alix Roberts 61’), Demi Koulizakis, Ellie Carpenter

Substitutes – Teagan Micah (gk)

Cautions – Rachael Soutar 28’, Ellie Carpenter 75’

Canberra United: Melissa Maizels (gk), Julia De Angelis, Kendall Fletcher, Jenna McCormick (Grace Gill 77’), Ellie Brush, Meg McLaughlin (Nickoletta Flannery 63’), Nicole Begg (c), Ashleigh Sykes, Emma Checker (Catherine Brown 82’), Veronica Perez, Rebecca Kiting

Substitutes – Georgia Boric (gk)

Cautions – Emma Checker 16’, Julia De Angelis 64’

Melbourne City – BYE