Westfield W-League Round 8 Review

Derby weekend in the Westfield W-League ended in more glory for Melbourne City and parity between the Sydney rivals.

Melbourne City remain perfect after seven matches by cruising to another hefty win, this time putting four unanswered goals past locals rivals Melbourne Victory.

The match-up in Sydney proved to be far closer with Western Sydney Wanderers twice coming from behind to collect an entertaining 2-2 draw at Sydney FC.

And the mid-table log-jam was maintained as Adelaide United failed to return to winning ways by being held 1-1 at home by Perth Glory.

Saturday’s only match saw second-placed Canberra United maintain their recent form with a 2-0 home win over Brisbane Roar with Ashleigh Sykes scoring both goals.

Next Sunday will be highlighted by the Fox Sports/ABC TV match as in-form Newcastle Jets host runaway leaders Melbourne City.

Canberra United 2 (Ashleigh Sykes 45’, 60’)
Brisbane Roar 0

Saturday 5 December 2015
McKellar Park, Canberra
Kick-off: 3pm

Referee: Casey Reibelt

Canberra United: Lydia Williams (gk), Kendall Fletcher, Jenna McCormick (Nickoletta Flannery 84’), Caitlin Munoz (Julia De Angelis 66’), Ellie Brush, Michelle Heyman, Nicole Begg (c), Ashleigh Sykes, Emma Checker, Veronica Perez, Rebecca Kiting (Catherine Brown 71’)

Substitutes – Melissa Maizels (gk)

Cautions – Veronica Perez 43’

Brisbane Roar: Carrie Simpson (gk), Amy Chapman (Sofie Persson 67’), Clare Polkinghorne (c), Angela Beard, Gabrielle Marzano (Alisha Foote 79’), Katrina Gorry, Kirsty Yallop, Tameka Butt (Ayesha Norrie 90’), Summer O’Brien, Ruth Blackburn, Emily Gielnik

Substitutes – Haley Kopmeyer (gk)

Cautions – Kirsty Yallop 56’, 75’

Red Card – Kirsty Yallop 75’

Melbourne Victory 0
Melbourne City 4 (Jennifer Beattie 35’, Larissa Crummer 52’, 72’, Kim Little 79’)

Sunday 6 December 2015
David Barro Stadium, Veneto Club, Bulleen
Kick-off: 3pm

Referee: Lara Lee

Melbourne Victory: Melissa Barbieri (gk) (c), Alexandra Natoli, Melissa Taranto, Annabel Martin, Jamie Pollock, Christine Nairn, MelindaJ Barbieri (Adriana Taranto 92’), Whitney Knight (Gulcan Koca 75’), Thea Slatyer, Cindy Lay (Briar Palmer 46’) Natasha Dowie

Substitutes – Cassandra Dimovski (gk)

Cautions – Annabel Martin 31’, Christine Nairn 42’

Melbourne City: Trudy Burke (gk), Jennifer Beattie, Laura Alleway, Aivi Luik, Steph Catley (c), Kim Little, Larissa Crummer (Amy Jackson 79’), Jess Fishlock, Lisa De Vanna, Rebekah Stott (Anisa Guajardo 63’), Marianna Tabain (Beattie Goad 75’)

Substitutes – Brianna Davey (gk)

Cautions – none

Sydney FC 2 (Alanna Kennedy 9’, Kyah Simon 74’)
Western Sydney Wanderers 2 (Hannah Beard 19’, Liz Grey 84’)

Sunday 6 December 2015
Lambert Park, Sydney
Kick-off: 4pm

Referee: Katie Paterson

Sydney FC: Michelle Betos (gk), Liz Ralston, Jasmyne Spencer, Teresa Polias (c), Amy Harrison, Princess Ibini, Natalie Tobin (Sunny Franco 88’), Alanna Kennedy, Teigen Allen, Kyah Simon, Leena Khamis

Substitutes – Sham Khamis (gk), Olivia Price, Hannah Bacon

Cautions – Alanna Kennedy 15’, Teigen Allen 29’, Amy Harrison 31’, Jasmyne Spencer 32’, Leena Khamis 50’, Kyah Simon 56’

Western Sydney Wanderers: Jada Whyman (gk), Carmelina Moscato, Chloe O’Brien (Liz Grey 79’), Rachael Soutar (Helen Petinos 71’), Erica Halloway, Michelle Carney, Keelin Winters (c), Hannah Beard (Alix Roberts 79’), Demi Koulizakis, Ellie Carpenter, Linda O’Neill

Substitutes – Lisa Farrington (gk)

Cautions – Michelle Carney 93’

Adelaide United 1 (Alexandra Gummer 75’)
Perth Glory 1 (Shawn Billam 7’)

Sunday 6 December 2015Adelaide Shores Football Centre, Adelaide
Kick-off:  7.30pm

Referee: Rebecca Durcau

Adelaide United: Kaitlyn Savage (gk), Lauren Steer, Alexandra Gummer, Sarah Killion, Allira Toby (Chantelle Ryder 63’), Emily Condon, Rosie Sutton, Elizabeth Milne (c), Abigail Dahlkemper, Grace Abbey (Georgia Campagnale 69’), Tiarn Powell (Lorena Maggio 88’)

Substitutes – Claudia Jenkins (gk)

Cautions – Elizabeth Milne 83’, Abigail Dahlkemper 93’

Perth Glory: Mackenzie Arnold (gk), Kim Carroll (c), Katie Holtham, Shannon May, Carla Bennett (Angelique Stannett 23’), Nicole Stanton, Shawn Billam (Ella Mastrantonio 75’), Caitlin Foord, Danielle Brogan, Thia Eastman (Emily Henderson 72’), Vanessa DiBernardo

Substitutes – Gabrielle Dal Busco (gk)

Cautions – Caitlin Foord 69’

Newcastle Jets – BYE