Westfield W-League Round 9 Review

Leaders Melbourne City made it eight wins from eight starts, but they were made to work overtime in collecting a 1-0 win at Newcastle Jets in front of over 3,000 fans on Sunday.

It took a Beattie Goad goal just before half-time to see off the Jets who continued their strong defensive form as City were restricted to a single goal for the first time this season.

Sydney FC maintained their recent form with a 4-2 win over Perth Glory in the west.

Perth’s Vanessa DiBernardo scored goals at either end of the game, but it was the Sky Blues who had the lead by half-time with Kyah Simon also nabbing a double.

On Saturday, Canberra United underlined their hold on second spot with a confident 4-0 win over the visiting Adelaide United who slipped to their worst defeat of the season. Canberra scored twice in each half with Michelle Heyman nabbing a double.

Bottom side Melbourne Victory secured a 2-2 comeback draw against Western Sydney Wanderers, scoring twice in the second half to collect their first home point of the season.

Next Sunday will be highlighted by the Fox Sports/ABC TV match in one of the traditional highlights of the Westfield W-League calendar as Sydney FC welcome Brisbane Roar at Central Coast Stadium.

Melbourne Victory 2 (MelindaJ Barbieri 52’, Natasha Dowie 75’)
Western Sydney Wanderers 2 (Linda O’Neill 40’, Carmelina Moscato 47’)

Saturday 12 December 2015
Veneto Cub Bulleen, Melbourne
Kick-off: 3pm

Referee: Kate Jacewicz

Melbourne Victory: Melissa Barbieri (gk) (c), Alexandra Natoli, Melissa Taranto (Whitney Knight 66’), Annabel Martin, Enza Barilla (Gulcan Koca 77’), Jamie Pollock, Christine Nairn, MelindaJ Barbieri (Briar Palmer 89’), Thea Slatyer, Hayley Raso, Natasha Dowie

Substitutes – Cassandra Dimovski (gk)

Cautions – MelindaJ Barbieri 87’

Western Sydney Wanderers: Jada Whyman (gk), Carmelina Moscato, Chloe O’Brien, Rachael Soutar, Helen Petinos, Michelle Carney, Keelin Winters (c), Hannah Beard (Jordan Baker 71’), Ellie Carpenter, Linda O’Neill (Liz Grey 44’), Alix Roberts (Tara Pender 83’)

Substitutes – Lisa Farrington (gk)

Cautions – Alix Roberts 6’, Ellie Carpenter 66’, Carmelina Moscato 80’

Canberra United 4 (Michelle Heyman 9’, 84’, Jenna McCormick 15’, Veronica Perez 93’)
Adelaide United 0

Saturday 12 December 2015
McKellar Park, Canberra
Kick-off: 4pm

Referee: Kelly Jones

Canberra United: Lydia Williams (gk), Kendall Fletcher, Jenna McCormick (Emma Kete 65’), Caitlin Munoz (Julia De Angelis 78’), Ellie Brush, Michelle Heyman, Nicole Begg (c), Ashleigh Sykes (Meg McLaughlin 82’), Emma Checker, Veronica Perez, Rebecca Kiting

Substitutes – Melissa Maizels (gk)

Cautions – Emma Kete 82’

Adelaide United: Kaitlyn Savage (gk), Lauren Steer, Alexandra Gummer, Sarah Killion, Allira Toby (Georgia Campagnale 73’), Chantelle Ryder (Gabrielle Bentley 89’), Emily Condon, Rosie Sutton, Elizabeth Milne (c), Abigail Dahlkemper, Tiarn Powell (Lorena Maggio 59’)

Substitutes – Claudia Jenkins (gk)

Cautions – Chantelle Ryder 56’

Perth Glory 2 (Vanessa DiBernardo 5’, 85’)
Sydney FC 4 (Jasmyne Spencer 26’, Kyah Simon 37’, 84’, Nicola Bolger 48’)

Sunday 13 December 2015
Ashfield Reserve, Perth
Kick-off: 4pm

Referee: Katie Patterson

Perth Glory: Mackenzie Arnold (gk), Kim Carroll (c), Katie Holtham, Shannon May, Nicole Stanton, Shawn Billam (Ella Mastrantonio 54’), Caitlin Foord, Kathryn Schubert (Angelique Stannett 46’), Danielle Brogan, Thia Eastman (Caitlin Doeglas 85’), Vanessa DiBernardo

Substitutes – Gabrielle Dal Busco (gk)

Cautions – Nicole Stanton 49’, Katie Holtham 66’

Sydney FC: Michelle Betos (gk), Liz Ralston, Ellyse Perry, Jasmyne Spencer (Teigan Allen 85’), Teresa Polias (c), Nicola Bolger, Amy Harrison, Princess Ibini (Sunny Franco 75’), Alanna Kennedy, Kyah Simon, Leena Khamis (Olivia Price 81’)

Substitutes – Sham Khamis (gk)

Cautions – none

Newcastle Jets 0
Melbourne City 1 (Beattie Goad 44’)

Sunday 13 December 2015
Hunter Stadium, Newcastle
Kick-off: 2pm

Referee: Rachel Mitchenson

Newcastle Jets: Hannah Southwell (gk), Georgia Yeoman-Dale, Megan Oyster, Caprice Dydasco, Cassidy Davis, Gema Simon (c), Tara Andrews, Chloe Logarzo (Kobie Ferguson 84’), Adriana Jones (Siahn Bozanic 75’), Jenna Kingsley (Clare Wheeler 65’), Hannah Bromley

Substitutes – Claire Coelho (gk)

Cautions – none

Melbourne City: Brianna Davey (gk), Jennifer Beattie, Laura Alleway, Aivi Luik, Steph Catley (c), Kim Little, Larissa Crummer (Marianna Tabain 80’), Jess Fishlock, Lisa De Vanna, Amy Jackson, Beattie Goad (Rebekah Stott 75’)

Substitutes – Trudy Burke (gk), Alexandra Chidiac

Cautions – none

Brisbane Roar – BYE