Westfield W-League Semi-Finals preview

Canberra will welcome Brisbane to the nation’s capital on Saturday, while Victory visits Sydney FC on Sunday at WIN Jubilee Oval.

Canberra United will welcome Brisbane Roar to the nation-s capital on Saturday, while Melbourne Victory visits Sydney FC on Sunday at WIN Jubilee Oval in a repeat of last year-s Grand Final, with both matches kicking-off at 3pm.

Canberra United v Brisbane Roar

Recent history

Round 4, Sunday 8 December 2013

An early strike from Elise Kellond-Knight proved the difference as Brisbane Roar recorded a narrow 1-0 win over Canberra United at McKellar Park.

Kellond-Knight found the net after eight minutes to settle an even contest with the hosts wasting a great opportunity to snatch a point after a missed penalty in the first stanza.

Round 1, Saturday 9 November 2013

Canberra United sealed all three points in a 3-0 victory against Brisbane Roar at AJ Kelly Oval, in what was the home team-s heaviest ever Westfield W-League defeat.

USA international Lori Lindsey opened the scoring after seven minutes following a marauding run into the area as she buried the rebound after Michelle Heyman hit the post.

Goals from Heyman on either side of half-time put the result beyond doubt.

Melbourne Victory v Sydney FC

Recent history

Sydney FC v Melbourne Victory

Round 5, Sunday 15 December 2013

A late strike from Jessica Fishlock helped Melbourne Victory salvage a 1-1 draw with Sydney FC in one of the most anticipated matches of the campaign at Allianz Stadium in December.

The match marked the Sky Blues- return to Westfield W-League action after spending two weeks in Japan for the International Women-s Club Championship.

Melbourne controlled the tempo for the first half hour but it was the hosts who opened the scoring via the boot of Emma Kete in the 33rd minute.

The away team continued to create the majority of the chances but were forced to wait until the 81st minute to restore parity to the clash when Fishlock slotted the equaliser past Dumont.

Round 1, Sunday 10 November 2013

Reigning Westfield W-League champions Sydney FC began their 2013/14 season in fine fashion with a comfortable 5-1 win over Melbourne Victory at Lakeside Stadium last November.

The hosts started the clash the brighter of the two sides and opened the scoring in the third minute via the boot of debutant Emma Checker after heading home captain Stephanie Catley-s corner from just outside the six yard box.

The Sky Blues began to find their feet and were back on level terms in the 18th minute as Leena Khamis found the net.

Sydney took the lead only minutes later as Nicola Bolger fired a strike into the net following a deflection at the far post.

Sydney extended their lead in the 59th minute as striker Jodie Taylor sent the ball beyond goalkeeper Brianna Davey after connecting with a Bolger free kick.

Bolger was in the action again shortly after as she found the net for the second time of the encounter with just under 20 minutes remaining.

Substitute Emma Kete scored just before the full-time whistle from the edge of area to seal all three points for Alen Stajcic-s side.

Grand Final, Sunday 27 January 2013

Sydney FC secured their second Westfield W-League Championship after defeating Melbourne Victory 3-1 in last season-s decider at AAMI Park.

Nicola Bolger opened the account for the Sky Blues following a shocking defensive error before Petra Larsson-s free kick levelled the score just before the interval.

A header from Sam Kerr combined with a penalty from Player of the Match Kyah Simon was enough for Sydney to seal their second title as Maika Ruyter-Hooley was shown a straight red for the challenge which resulted in the spot-kick being awarded.

Canberra United v Brisbane Roar Saturday 15 February 2014 McKellar Park, Belconnen, Canberra Kick-off: 3pm

Sydney FC v Melbourne Victory Sunday 16 February WIN Jubilee Oval, Kogarah, Sydney Kick-off: 3pm