Westfield W-League week 5 round up

A goal avalanche marked Round Five of the Westfield W-League with Canberra United, Brisbane Roar and Melbourne Victory all bagging impressive wins.

A goal avalanche marked Round Five of the Westfield W-League with Canberra United, Brisbane Roar and Melbourne Victory all bagging impressive wins.

Canberra maintained their stunning form in shooting down the Newcastle Jets 3-1 to secure their fifth consecutive win which. With Sydney having the bye, the team from the nation-s capital secured an astonishing eight-point margin at the top.

Brisbane Roar returned to their championship form of last season with an overwhelming 5-2 victory on the road against Perth Glory. Matildas star Tameka Butt leading the way with a hat-trick as the Roar went second ahead of old rivals Sydney on goal difference.

Youngster Caitlin Friend also bagged a treble, her first in the Westfield W-League, as Melbourne Victory finally transferred their attacking form to the scoreboard with a 4-0 win at home over Adelaide United.

Meanwhile Canberra passed their latest test with flying colours outgunning the Newcastle Jets in an impressive display in extremely warm conditions. The United defence was resolute throughout with the threat of Lisa De Vanna particularly well handled and goalkeeper Lydia Williams impressive as always whenever called into action.

At the other end of the field, three of Canberra-s Matildas contingent were prominent in all of the goals. Michelle Heyman continued her rich vein of form with a pair of second-half headers. Player of the match Sally Shipard opening the scoring in the first half and laid on one of Heyman-s goals, while Ellyse Perry, a constant threat from right back, provided the assist for two of the goals.

However it was Newcastle-s Gema Simon, cousin of Matildas star Kyah, who scored the goal of the match with a sweet curling strike from an acute angle.

Nevertheless, Canberra looked likely winners throughout with Shipard and Heyman scoring midway through each half before the third came ten minutes from full time.

It was a second heavy defeat in as many weeks for the Jets who crashed 4-1 at home against Sydney FC last weekend.

On the other side of the country, Brisbane Roar turned on the style in routing Perth Glory for just their second win in four starts.

Jeff Hopkins side were 2-1 to the good at the break and held a 5-1 advantage until the Glory-s Marianna Tabain secured a late consolation for the home team.

Earlier Butt hit first-half goals either side of a penalty converted by the Glory-s Emma Kete. Second-half strikes from Emily Gielnik, Clare Polkinghorne and a third for Butt confirmed the Roar-s superiority after what has been an erratic opening to their title defence.

The return of coach Vicki Linton after Australia U-17 duty coincided with Melbourne Victory finally turning the corner in front of goal. The Victory doubled their season goal tally in a single match against the visiting Adelaide, thanks to four answered goals.

The bottom-placed Adelaide had suffered narrow losses in recent weeks but it was all one-way traffic on Saturday in Melbourne. The Victory skipped to a 2-0 advantage at the interval thanks to Friend-s opening goal and a sublime free-kick from skipper Jodie Taylor. The lead could easily have been more as Katrina Gorry and Kendall Fletcher narrowly failed to find the target before Friend bagged two more as the Victory slipped above the Jets into fourth.

Westfield W-League 2011/12 Week 5 Round-Up

Canberra United 3 (Sally Shipard 29-, Michelle Heyman 64-, 80-) Newcastle Jets 1 (Gema Simon 77-) Saturday 19 November 2011 McKellar Park, Canberra Local kick-off: 3pm

Referee: Kiralee Gardner

Canberra United: Lydia WILLIAMS (gk), Caitlin COOPER, Ellie BRUSH, Caitlin MUNOZ (Snez VELJANOVSKA 90-), Michelle HEYMAN, Nicole SYKES, Ashleigh SYKES, Sally SHIPARD, Ellyse PERRY, Taryn HEMMINGS (Georgia YEOMAN-DALE 86-) Jennifer BISSET (Kahlia HOGG 83-) Substitutes not used: Aroon CLANSEY (gk) Yellow Cards: Ashleigh Sykes 45- Red Cards: Nil

Newcastle Jets: Melissa BARBIERI (gk), Alanna KENNEDY, Gemma PEARCE, Nicola BOLGER, Gema SIMON (Monique KOFOED 85-), Linda O'NEILL (Rhali DOBSON 56-), Tara ANDREWS (Hannah BREWER 75-), Emily VAN EGMOND, Lisa DE VANNA, Stacey DAY, Ariane HINGST Substitutes not used: Alison LOGUE (gk) Yellow Cards: Lisa De Vanna 84-, Emily van Egmond 90- Red Cards: Nil

Perth Glory 2 (Emma Kete 24-, Marianna Tabain 79-) Brisbane Roar 5 (Tameka Butt 6-, 43-, 75-, Emily Gielnik 59-, Clare Polkinghorne 71-) Saturday 19 November 2011 6PR Stadium, Perth Local kick-off: 4pm

Referee: Trent Fleskins

Perth Glory: Mackenzie ARNOLD (gk), Erika ELZE, Shannon MAY (Jaymee GIBBONS 68-), Katarina JUKIC (Sadie LAWRENCE 68-), Tanya OXTOBY (Carys HAWKINS 80-), Katie HOLTHAM, Ella MASTRANTONIO, Danielle CALAUTTI, Elisa D'OVIDIO, Marianna TABAIN, Emma KETE Substitutes not used: Kristy TESCHINSKY (gk) Yellow Cards: Nil Red Cards: Nil

Brisbane Roar: Casey DUMONT (gk), Laura ALLEWAY, Clare POLKINGHORNE, Brooke SPENCE, Joanne BURGESS, Lana HARCH, Ashley SPINA, Tameka BUTT, Vedrana POPOVIC, Sasha MCDONNELL ((Emily GIELNIK 25-, Michaela HATZIRODAS 88-)), Ellen BEAUMONT (Catherine CANNULI 71-) Substitutes not used: Hoshimi KISHI (gk) Yellow cards: Ellen Beaumont 23- Red cards: Nil

Melbourne Victory (Caitlin Friend 16-, 56-, 80-, Jodie Taylor 23-) Adelaide United 0 Saturday 19 November 2011 Veneto Club, Bulleen Local kick-off: 5pm

Referee: Catherine Hoffman

Melbourne Victory: Brianna DAVEY (gk), Rebekah STOTT (Gulcan KOCA 66-), Maika RUYTER-HOOLEY, Kendall FLETCHER, Danielle JOHNSON, Stephanie CATLEY, Ashley BROWN (Louisa BISBY 76-), Jodie TAYLOR, Catlin FRIEND, Amy JACKSON, Katrina GORRY (Enza BARILLA 72-) Substitutes not used: Cassandra DIMOVSKI (gk) Yellow Cards: Nil Red Cards: Nil

Adelaide United: Sian MCLAREN (gk), Anna GREEN, Abby ERCEG, Racheal QUIGLEY, Marijana RAJCIC (Ebony PHILCOX 62-), Ashleigh GUNNING, Emma CHECKER, Grace HENRY, Katherine EBBS (Leanne SLATER 62-), Georgia MACRI (Donna COCKAYNE 56-), Nenita BURGESS Substitutes not used: Kristi HARVEY (gk) Yellow Cards: Nil Red Cards: Nil

Bye: Sydney FC