What do Catley, Simon and Kellond-Knight have in common?

The list of NAB Young Footballer of the Year winners reads like a team of Westfield Matildas stars.

The likes of Steph Catley, Kyah Simon, Elise Kellond-Knight and most recently, Ellie Carpenter, have all won the prestigious honour since the Westfield W-League’s inception.

Carpenter won the award for her outstanding 2017/18 Season with Canberra United and is eligible to go back-to-back in the current campaign.

CARPENTER’S TRICKS: NWSL record-breaker to share lessons learned in Westfield W-League
HOW TO WATCH: Every Round 5 game of the Westfield W-League

But she will face plenty of competition as the annual award - recognising the Westfield W-League and Hyundai A-League’s best performing young players - shines a light on Australia’s emerging football talent.

This season's expert panel is fronted by Westfield Matildas head coach Alen Stajcic but it is the supporters who have the final say by choosing the 2018/19 winner.

How does it work?

The panel of experts - Alen Stajcic, Sarah Walsh, Amy Duggan and Teo Pellizzeri - submit votes on a 3-2-1 basis to recognise the best performing young player each month.

That player is rewarded by being nominated for the end-of-season award. 

A player can only be nominated once. At the end of the season, six players will have been nominated and, from that shortlist, fans will decide the winner of the NAB Young Footballer of the Year. 

Supporters can vote via a poll at w-league.com.au, with the most popular nominee announced as the winner at the Dolan Warren Awards.

Players must be aged 19 or under to be eligible for the award. Any players who receive a red card during the Westfield W-League season are ruled out of the running.

The winner receives a $10,000 personal investment portfolio from NAB and a NAB Private Client Manager to assist with a range of banking and financial services.

Ellie Carpenter


Who are the past winners?

Carpenter and Daniel Arzani are the reigning NAB Young Footballers of the Year.

Six other players have also claimed the honour for their Westfield W-League exploits.

2017/18: Ellie Carpenter (Canberra United)
2016/17: Remy Siemsen (Sydney FC)
2015/16: Larissa Crummer (Melbourne City)
2014/15: Amy Harrison (Sydney FC)
2013/14: Steph Catley (Melbourne Victory)
2012/13: Steph Catley (Melbourne Victory)
2011/12: Ashley Brown (Melbourne Victory)
2010/11: Kyah Simon (Sydney FC)
2009/10: Elise Kellond-Knight (Brisbane Roar) and Ellyse Perry (Canberra United)