What is rebel Female Football Round?

The Westfield W-League 2018/19 Season draw was announced on Thursday with one of the standout features being the rebel Female Football Round.

Round 4 of the campaign, from November 22-25, celebrates women in football and the extensive impact they play at all levels of the game.

CELEBRATING WOMEN IN FOOTBALL: What is rebel Female Football Round?
READ MORE: Blockbuster Sydney Derby to open Westfield W-League season
DON'T MISS A GAME: How to watch every Westfield W-League 2018/19 match

Download the Westfield W-League 2018/19 Season Draw as a PDF

A key objective of rebel Female Football Round is to drive female participation, while also acknowledging the large number of women who are currently actively involved in the game in any capacity.

It’s about heroing the females of our game at all levels and provides a platform for discussion on how we can continue to drive the participation of women in football at all levels.

rebel Female Football Round will see three matches broadcast, including the Thursday night prime time clash between Adelaide United and Canberra United at Coopers Stadium on Thursday, November 22.

The match will see Westfield Matildas striker Michelle Heyman – now at the Reds – go up against her former club for the first time since swapping the nation’s capital for the city of churches.

Michelle Heyman

Two matches will also feature as double-headers with the Hyundai A-League, including Sydney FC’s clash with Melbourne Victory at Jubilee Stadium on Sunday, November 25.

Like the epic battles between these two clubs in the Hyundai A-League, the Big Blue in the Westfield W-League is also must-see action.

On the same day, Perth Glory hosts defending champions Melbourne City at nib Stadium.

Both of these clubs like to attack, meaning goals should be on the cards in the west.

The other match in rebel Female Football Round sees Western Sydney Wanderers host Newcastle Jets at Marconi Stadium on Saturday, November 24.

rebel Female Football Round Fixtures

  • Thursday, November 22 – Adelaide United v Canberra United
  • Saturday, November 24 – Western Sydney Wanderers v Newcastle Jets
  • Sunday, November 25 – Sydney FC v Melbourne Victory
  • Sunday, November 25 – Perth Glory v Melbourne City

READ MORE: Four of the biggest clashes of the Westfield W-League 2018/19 season
ALL NEW: Prime time games and double headers! Find out everything that's new in 2018/19