Who's who in the W - Canberra United

Canberra United become the first team to unveil their squad ahead of this year's competition.

Canberra United have become the first Westfield W-League side to name their squad ahead of the upcoming season. Several signings have been made to strengthen the squad but the major coup is W-League Player of the year and Golden Boot holder Michelle Heyman.

Heyman, who struck eleven goals on her way to claiming the top-scorer award last season, is joined by fellow former Central Coast Mariners players Caitlin Cooper and Lyndsay Glohe in a Canberra team that has masses of potential.

Both Cooper and Glohe have Australian caps and add competition to a United back-line that will once again be marshaled by the inspirational Ellie Brush in front of co-captain Lydia Williams.

Recovered fully from a damaging knee-injury that curtailed her involvement last season, The Tradies Premier League Golden Boot winner Caitlin Munoz, is also back in action. Munoz, who scored four times in the inaugural Westfield W-League season, is joined in the squad by Matilda-s team mate Sally Shipard with the experienced pair expected to add a touch of class to Canberra-s attack.

With Tseng Shu-O arriving back in Australia from Chinese Taipei, there is plenty of optimism that the club can go one better than last season and claim a Grand Final spot. The only problem for Head Coach Ray Junna will be finding the best formation to utilise the talents at his disposal.

United head coach Ray Junna was excited by the prospect of the season ahead. “I-m very happy with where we are in terms of the squad at the moment.” Junna said. “There are still a few spots left to be finalised but the quality of signings we have been able to make have given us excellent depth and we can look forward to a promising season ahead.”

Adding to an already high-quality squad will be the return of dual football and cricket international Ellyse Perry, who swept the board at the club-s awards last year and was a joint winner of the Westfield W-League Young Player of the Year. In addition to Ellie Brush and Westfield Young Matilda-s international Emily Van Egmond, there is plenty of depth in the Canberra squad.

CANBERRA UNITED SQUAD Westfield W-League Season Three Lydia Williams (gk), Jocelyn Mara (gk), Caitlin Cooper, Lyndsay Glohe, Kahlia Hogg, Caitlin Munoz, Ellie Brush, Emily Van Egmond, Tseng Shu-O, Cian Maciejewski, Ellyse Perry, Michelle Heyman, Sally Shipard Plus 7 to be named

CONFIRMED ARRIVALS Sally Shipard (from sabbatical), Caitlin Munoz (from injury), Caitlin Cooper, Lyndsay Glohe, Michelle Heyman (all from Central Coast Mariners)

CONFIRMED DEPARTURES Thea Slatyer, Chiung Ying Lin (returned to Chinese Taipei), Bronwyn Studman (Scholarship to the USA), Rebecca Kiting (Scholarship to the USA), Ellie Raymond, Christine Walters

Canberra's Fixtures

November: Sun 7, 3:00 PM Perth Glory W-League 6PR Stadium, Perth

Sat 13, 5:00 PM Brisbane Roar W-League McKellar Park, Canberra

Sat 20, 3:00 PM Melbourne Victory W-League McKellar Park, Canberra

December: Sat 4, 5:00 PM Adelaide United W-League Deakin Football Stadium, Canberra

Sat 11, 3:00 PM Newcastle Jets W-League EnergyAustralia Stadium, Newcastle

Sat 18, 5:00 PM Brisbane Roar W-League Perry Park, Brisbane

January: Sat 8, 3:00 PM Melbourne Victory W-League Skilled Stadium, Geelong

Sat 15, 5:00 PM Newcastle Jets W-League Deakin Football Stadium, Canberra

Sat 22, 5:00 PM Sydney FC W-League Seymour Shaw Park, Miranda

Sat 29, 3:00 PM Perth Glory W-League McKellar Park, Canberra